ITAL201 Intermediate Italian, Marta Martini, Fall 2017

This course is intended for students who have completed two terms of Italian. Students will study the more complex aspects of sentence structure. They will read newspaper articles and excerpts of works by contemporary Italian authors. Attention will also be given to writing essays on a regular basis.

Textbook

In compliance with the Higher Education Opportunity Act Textbook Provision, SACI provides, when possible, the International Standard Book Number (ISBN) and retail price of required and recommended reading. 

Nocchi, Susanna, Nuova grammatica della lingua italiana, Alma Edizioni, 2014.
ISBN: 9788861822474 (Retail price: €20.50).

Schedule

Week 1

From Monday, September 4 to Friday, September 8

Communicative function

Telling a story in the past. Describing people and places.

Grammatical content

The past tenses: passato prossimo, imperfetto, trapassato prossimo.

Cultural Content

Italian women writers. An interview of N. Ginzburg by D. Maraini.

Week 2

From Monday, September 11 to Friday, September 15

Communicative function

Expressing desires, giving advice, making polite requests.

Grammatical content

The simple and compound conditional tense.

Cultural Content

Famous Italian singers: Andrea Bocelli.

Week 3

From Monday, September 18 to Friday, September 22

Communicative function

Avoiding repetition of a noun.

Grammatical content

Review of pronouns (direct, indirect, double object).

Cultural Content

Famous Italian stylists: G. Armani, M. Prada.

Week 4

From Monday, September 25 to Friday, September 29

Communicative function

Expressing tastes and preferences. Making comparisons.

Grammatical content

Comparative and superlatives.The Historical Past          

Cultural Content

Italian fables written by Italo Calvino.

Week 5

From Monday, October 2 to Friday, October 6

Communicative function

Talking about events that will take place in the future.

Grammatical content

The future and the compound conditional tense.

Cultural Content

Italian secondary schools and access to university .

Week 6

From Monday, October 9 to Friday, October 13

Communicative function

Telling a story respecting the chronological order of events.

Grammatical content

The agreement of tenses in the indicative.

Cultural Content

Autobiographies of famous Italians: R. Levi Montalcini.

Week 7

From Monday, October 16 to Friday, October 20

Communicative function

Oral interview: Presentation of a topic chosen by the student.

Grammatical content

Review for midterm exam.

 

Written: Grammar and vocabulary Reading comprehension. A composition in Italian

 

 

 

MIDTERM EXAM

 

 

Week 8

From Monday, October 23 to Friday, October 27

Communicative function

Asking someone to do something. Accepting and refusing.

Grammatical content

The imperative. Le particelle pronominali.

Cultural Content

Italian geography and regional cuisine.

 

 

Week 9

MIDTERM BREAK (October 28 – November 5)

 

 

Week 10

From Monday, November 6 to Friday, November 10

Communicative function

Expressing opinions, hopes, and doubts.

Grammatical content

The subjunctive.

Cultural Content

Italy and sustainability.

Week 11

From Monday, November 13 to Friday, November 17

Communicative function

Formulating a hypothesis.

Grammatical content

The periodo ipotetico.

Cultural Content

Traditional Italian celebrations.

Week 12

From Monday, November 20 to Friday, November 24

Communicative function

Expressing judgments

Grammatical content

 Use of the subjective (continued).

Cultural Content

Italy and the recent immigration problems.

Week 13

From Monday, November 27 to Friday, December 1

Communicative function

Abbreviating phrases.

Grammatical content

Relative pronouns. Review of the Historical Past

Cultural Content

Brief history of Italy since 1861.

Week 14

From Monday, December 4 to Friday, December 8

Communicative function

Summarizing and comparing.

Grammatical content

Review of the course contents.

Cultural Content

Florence’s artistic wealth: students’ suggestions to optimize visiting sights.

Week 15

From Monday, December 11 to Friday, December 15

FINAL EXAMS

General review of the course

 

Oral Exam: Students present a topic about Italian culture, and are interviewed in Italian.

Written Exam: Drills on general content of course for grammar and vocabulary. Questions based on comprehension of an Italian text.

 

General Safety & Emergency Instructions

Click here for a pdf of SACI's General Safety & Emergency Instructions.

Share
this page